WANTS vs. NEEDS

Posted: February 18, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

 

WANTS vs. NEEDS

 
I have been hearing a lot lately about people seeming to “need” this or “need” that but they do nothing about it and sit there and complain.  Today we are going to talk about the differences between want and need, and the initiative one puts forward to achieving those desires.
 
QUESTION: Why do people seem to always need everything?
 
When I was younger I had a good long discussion with my brother about a lot of things, and one of those things being this topic today.  I have since added my own life experiences to conjure up a good explanation of what this means.
 
NEEDS
 
Some common examples of stuff that we need are food, water, heat, and a roof of some kind over our head. We need to pay taxes, have money, and not break the laws (at least not the laws of the One true judge). Now, if you would ask those extreme literal people who always like to argue, they would say we don’t actually need anything; all those needs are actually “wants”. Which to an extent is true. What I mean by this is, you only need heat if you don’t want to freeze to death, you only need food and water if you don’t want to starve to death, you only need to pay taxes if you don’t want to be incarcerated. Now, those are extremes and a bit ridiculous because that would basically be saying that you only need to do certain things if you don’t want to die. We aren’t going to be those people. No one needs to die, but we have to die. Either way, we still have do what it takes to be able make sure we are able to get the stuff that we actually need. Now we could go another route in the stuff that we need. Examples: Obese people need to stop needing so much lose weight. PUT THE CUPCAKE DOWN FATTY!! Not because they are hard to look at, which they are, but because they are killing themselves. Anorexic people need to eat. PICK UP THE DAMN FORK AND USE IT!! Same reason. People need to bathe and brush their teeth because you could get diseases or extremely ill and die. GET YOUR STINKY ASS A BAR OF SOAP OR THREE!! And ultimately people need to have all of there needs in moderation, because too much of anything is never a good time.
 
WANTS
 
Some common examples of stuff that we want are nice cars, name brand clothing, huge flat screen TVs, big houses, etc. To me, there is NOTHING wrong with wanting any of those things. I am an avid participator in the acquisition all these things. The difference is the initiative one puts into actually being able to acquire these wants. I want these things, so I work really hard and make sacrifices to get them. Literally everyday I hear people confuse the difference between stuff that they need vs. stuff that they want. The worst part is that they sit there and complain about it instead of taking action.  Some recent examples: “My phone bill is so high.” Well, how about you either work harder and make more money to pay for it, or eliminate some of your “wants”, like internet. “I really wish I could afford a nicer car”. You don’t even have a damn job so you have no right to complain. Take you lazy ass off of your mom’s couch and go get a good job.  A good example of this type of person is a thief. Then again, as bad as it sounds, at least the thief is taking initiative and going out and stealing to get theirs.
 

 The way I see it is a person has NO RIGHT to complain about stuff they have control of. Another form of this is, you have NO RIGHT to complain about stuff that you don’t pay for. Ex: You go eat at a friends’ house and the food is not so good, you have no right to complain about it. It was free!  Another Ex: Your parents pay for your phone bill, you have no right to complain about the phone service.  Feel free to complain about stuff that you absolutely have no control of. Ex: The power goes out in your house and you can’t use the stove, go ahead and complain. Ex: It’s snowing outside and you can’t make it to school or work, go ahead and complain.  Basically, get up and go or shut up and don’t. Either way we all know what type of people we want to be around.  So, How Do You Phill?

Comments
  1. Nina says:

    Your such a liar…..you b!@tch about my cooking & its free! You better hush up when you come or I’m gonna tell you to read this blog. I’m a prime example of getting want & need confused I want ALOT of things. But like you said I sacrifice things. Who needs groceries when I can have new shoes. Turning the heat on is overrated when you could go out for sushi. But my bills are paid & the kid is alright so I don’t feel bad for being a little confused.

  2. Tyrell says:

    im pretty sure i remember that conversation a LONG time ago haha and i dont hate to say it but “i told you so” but great points about actually getting up and gettin it done(walkers) and the ones who aint moving nothin but there mouths! I WANT my daughter to go to college and chase her dreams but i NEED to make sure i put myself in a position where i can send her! and real talk, if you one of the kats bitchin about something you can change and aint got the will to go do it? yo, do me a favor. go dig a whole and LAY IN IT! kuz only a dead man could be more worthless than you!

Leave a comment